Happy New Year!

I thought I’d share some of my resolutions I’ve made this year. They’re practically the same every year and normally around January 15th I give up, but this year is different.

I’ve graduated, I’m 21 and job hunting. It’s time to actually plan for the future.

Resolutions:

1. Track food on MyFitnessPal

This app can be both good and bad. Once upon a time I used to track every morsel of food that went into my mouth. 3 squares of Galaxy? 81 calories. 20 grapes? 60 calories. A large mighty meaty pizza…. well, I tended to omit those sort of days.

It’s very easy to get caught up on the numbers game with myfitnesspal and develop an obsessive behaviour with food. However if used appropriately and with a pinch of salt, the app can be very good at tracking what you eat. When I see what I’ve eaten on paper (or screen in this case…) it’s easy to see where I went wrong. Maybe I didn’t need that king size fudge bar. It helps with developing a balanced and varied diet. Which leads me to…

2. Exercising

In the winter months I have been slacking on the whole exercise routine. Like the rest of the world, I’ll be joining a gym, moving around a bit more and actually lifting weights; instead of walking to work and claiming that to be my exercise for the day.

3. Saving Money

Whilst at work, I was serving a lady who was treating herself to a lot of jewellery. She then paid for all of it in £1 coins. The lady explained that every year she gets herself a money box which only takes £1 and £2 coins (something like this). Every time she’d have some in her purse she’d put them all in the inaccessible pot. At the end of each year, she smashes it and treats herself. So in addition to buying the pot, I’m going to put aside a certain amount of money every week into my savings as well. As an additional money saving tip, I find rounding up my current account and putting the rest in my savings can build up the cash pretty quickly with minimal effort. Say my account was £456.89, I’d put £6.89 into my savings account. Doing this each week will ensure you save those extra pennies and turn them into pounds. Who knows what I’ll do with that money. Clothes, a holiday, a festival perhaps…. the possibilities are endless.

4. Career

2015 has been a bit of a roller coaster job wise. I’ve changed from the jobs I had at uni to an all together different retail job. I’ve graduated from university with a great degree and worked for free at various media publications  to build up my CV. I am also a freelance music reviewer on the side. This year has enabled me to re-evaluate what I want to do as a career, what is viable, what is right for me and what the next step is. 2016 has to be the year where I further my career. Confidence, uncertainty, nerves and no knowledge can lead you in a direction and quite simply in a rut. I want to avoid that as much as possible. 2016 is the year where I stop dreaming of success and getting that ‘dream’ job.This year I’ll JUST DO IT (Thanks Shia).

It’s pretty easy to fall into a negative mindset and wallow in it. Sometime’s the certainty of negative thinking can be comforting, but Christ almighty is it unhealthy. I’m starting to realise that sometimes a change of self is needed more than a change of scene. A positive mindset can do wonders on motivational levels. So chin up, apply and smile.

5. Learn to Drive

I’m sure my family will be delighted to hear this, but this year will be the year I learn to drive. I’ve been putting it off since I was 17, either due to nerves, uni and probably a little bit of laziness. Hopefully, if my career plan goes well, the end of the year will bring a cheeky little car…

My resolutions are all pretty generic, but they are simply things to get moving into a place where I’m satisfied and happy. 2015 was an incredible year, but 2016 will be better.

Cheers.

IMG_8617

If I’m having trouble following those New Year’s Resolutions, I’ll just keep playing this until I just DO IT.

Leave a Reply

