‘Golden Egg’ Easter Lush Review #3

Happy Easter lil bunnies! Hope you had a lovely day with your family, filled with chocolate and roast lamb!

Today marks my final review from my Easter Lush haul. I wanted to save best for last! The ‘Golden Egg’ immediately caught my attention on the shop floor. With it’s flakey glitter floating everywhere, it seemed like a real fun treat. After speaking with a customer assistant, I soon learned that it was a bath melt and bomb all rolled into one. As soon as I touched it my hands were caked in golden glitter. When it comes to bombs, the messier the better.

IMG_0018

To look at, the bomb is gorgeously glittery. It smells strongly of toffee and honey, you can definitely get the fragrance of the Colombian Cocoa Butter as soon as you pick it up. It’s a lot like ‘Honey I Washed the Kids’ and the ‘Honeymooner’ massage bar I tried a few years ago. Sublime.

IMG_0020.JPG

The only downside I can think of so far is that if you don’t like glitter, this product is not for the fainthearted. Be prepared to find glitter in nooks and crannies for days to come. Mind you, once plopped in the bath things take a different turn.

IMG_0022

It’s a slow start and not as messy as you’d expect. Considering it’s more of a melt than a bomb I think this is a very good thing. I enjoyed watching it spin around as the intoxicating toffee scent engulfed the bathroom. The melt soon turned into a bomb and the bath water turned into a very bright yellow with thousands of glittery specs. It’s not too overwhelming, it’s fairly manageable and doesn’t leave a horrid mess to clean up afterwards. The glitter is seaweed based which is great news because there’s no micro-plastics contaminating the water waste.

IMG_0024

The bath water wasn’t an appealing colour unfortunately. It was very yellow. I’d have liked the water to have been a bit more golden or orange perhaps. Bright yellow water can be…erm…off-putting. On the bright side, the cocoa butter was plentiful and packed with beneficial properties, my skin felt ridiculously soft and silky afterwards. You’ll need a lot of water in the bath though, as there is a risk of it becoming a bit greasy.

IMG_0026

I’d buy the melt/bomb again next Easter. There’s a real novelty to it and the product smells so good you’ll want to eat it. But it’s not my favourite Lush bath experience. Below is a video of how the good folks at Lush go about making the ‘Golden Egg’ – it’s an interesting watch.

Hope you enjoyed my take on some of the Lush products. I’m sure it won’t be the last series I’ll do. Next time I’m in Cambridge I’ll be picking up a few bits and pieces.

Happy Easter!

Leave a Reply

