Popshot Magazine: The Literary New Blood

IMG_0665.JPG

In all honestly, I cannot for the life of me remember how I came across this little gem. But I’m so pleased I found it one night, procrastinating with an essay on poetry most likely.

Popshot Magazine is an illustrated literary magazine that publishes short stories, flash fiction, and poetry from the literary new blood. The magazine is published bi-annually releasing a new issue every April and October. You can even get a chance to submit your own pieces to be considered for print. Something I’m mustering up the courage to do.

Launched in 2009, the magazine sought out to not look like an ordinary poetry magazine. With its black pages, a sans serif typeface and vibrant illustration, the magazine caught the attention of Dazed & Confused and The Guardian.

Jacob Denno, the editor and publisher, in an interview says:

“The magazine was born out of a slight frustration at the way in which poetry magazines were presenting themselves and ultimately, presenting poetry.

[…] the aim was to create a magazine that I thought could engage with younger readers and dispel the myth that poetry was a bunch of outdated bollocks that had no footing in the modern day.”

As soon as my first copy was pushed through my letterbox I fell in love with it. In these busy times sometimes a quick piece of creativity can aid all ailments. The illustrations add a completely new dimension to the poetry and short stories. These works aren’t sterile, staggered pieces – they are free, they jump off of the pages and are exciting.

For a mere £10.00, I can truthfully say it is my favourite subscription. I’m gladly supporting the print and creative industry which I feel is very important. There’s nothing quite like Popshot. Please do have a look online or check out their digital editions. The latest issue, The Adventure Issue, is truly delightful; and you can see the front cover come to life on your screen online.

Have a look at some of my favourite pieces that are available digitally:
‘Climbing Trees’ by Sophie Fenella
‘Shadows’ Short Story by James Hatton
‘MDMA’ by Daniel Sluman

DevinMcGrath.jpg
Illustration and Image owned by Devin McGrath

Other favourite pieces in past issues include:
– ‘Fridays’ by Roddy Williams (Issue 12, A/W 2014)
– ‘Rewind’ by Doireann Ni Ghriofa (Issue 12, A/W 2014)
– ‘Pumpkin Scones’ a short story by Georgia Oman (Issue 14, A/W 2015)
– ‘The Basement’ a short story by Danielle Carey (Issue 14, A/W 2015)
– ‘The Other Side’ by Tyler Quick (A/W 2014)

…but you’ll have to order the back issues to read them. These have sticked with me over the years. Well worth a flick through!

Let me know if you’ve ever picked up a copy. I’d love to swap my favourites pieces with you.

Processed with VSCOcam with x1 preset

 

Leave a Reply

